Hide Content
RPG Item: Covenants
RPG Item Version
Atlas Games PDF version
Alternate Nickname
Year Published
Electronic (PDF, DOC, eBook, HTML, etc.)
Product Code
66 pages
 Customize View
xml RSS Feed 
Facebook Twitter Delicious Google
ObjectID: 238971
Hide Content
Description Edit | History

From publisher blurb:

As There Are Four Seasons in a Year, There are Four Seasons in the Life of a Covenant

The covenant was one of Ars Magica's singular innovations in roleplaying, the foundation from which all adventures arose, the "central character" in every Ars Magica saga. Each game's covenant serves as its home base, secure bastion, and laboratory of magic.

This supplement for Ars Magica Second Edition — originally published by Lion Rampant in 1990 — was the original guide to creating covenants for Ars Magica. In addition to complete rules for creating covenants, Covenants includes four extraordinary examples, one for each season:

  • Lariander: Located in a bizarre faerie forest, this spring covenant, with its slothful grogs, decadent companions, and inexperienced magi stands on the brink of complete chaos.
  • Bellaquin: A summer covenant that rules an entire fiefdom, dealing extensively with the medieval nobility. It is a home of minstrels, sages, and all-too-much intrigue.
  • Doissetep: This sinister covenant is infamous among magi, only in part for having the largest library in Christendom. An autumn covenant, its enormous mountain fastness in the Pyrenees is nearly impenetrable.
  • Val-negra: This winter covenant is a place so strange that its inhabitants find it slowly drifting away from the normal flow of time. Most magi believe that it was destroyed long ago; it may have been better if that were true.

Covenants is a foundational guide to a critical topic of interest to every Ars Magica player.